The IMTA is governed by representatives from each branch who then elect Officers.

The current Council (as at January 2018) is:

Chairperson: Brendan O’Sullivan

Vice-Chairperson: Rosario Burke

Correspondence Secretary: PJ Folan

Recording Secretary: Louise Gilmore

Treasurer: Ciarán Duffy

CPD Co-ordinator: Michael Moynihan

Newsletter Editor: Michael O’Loughlin

Clare/Limerick: Jack Neylon

Cork: Brendan O’Sullivan

Donegal: Vacant

Dublin: Louise Gilmore

Galway: PJ Folan

Kerry: Kathleen Hayes

Midlands: Vacant

North East: Natalie Noone

Waterford: Rosario Burke

Wexford: James Meaney

Third Level Representatives: Elizabeth Oldham, James Ward and Cornelia Connolly

Co-opted Members: Neil Hallinan